water works

10 02 2010

I was internet shopping for some answers, the other day… Yes, I periodically turn to the cold, objective and sometimes rational arms of the internet to guide me in my quest for more details. Anyway, my scrolling began after an interesting conversation with friends, that morning, about water.

Did you know that copious glasses/bottles of water and a truckload of salt can assist in raising blood pressure? Now, I am presenting this as a good thing as I have quite low blood pressure and am often grasping for a sturdy chair or table to cling to as my equilibrium is restored, after springing too quickly from my seat. There is also, it turns out, a newly discovered connection between low blood pressure and migraine headaches. I find that fascinating.

I almost feel ready to make a profound statement about the miraculous and potential magic of water – but being an INTP (Meyers Briggs), I am a little uncomfortable with dramatic exclamations of fact – preferring, instead,  the enchantment of all the possibilities.  Anyway, water is rather magical and I’ll tell you why.

  1. A healthy person can drink about three gallons (48 cups) of water per day.
  2. Drinking too much water too quickly can lead to water intoxication. Water intoxication occurs when water dilutes the sodium level in the bloodstream and causes an imbalance of water in the brain.
  3. Water dissolves more substances than any other liquid.
  4. By the time a person feels thirsty, his or her body has lost over 1 percent of its total water amount.
  5. Water is essential to the human body’s survival. A person can live for about a month without food, but only about a week without water.
  6. Water helps to support healthy body weight by increasing metabolism and regulating appetite.
  7. Water leads to increased energy levels. The most common cause of daytime fatigue is actually mild dehydration.
  8. Drinking adequate amounts of water can decrease the risk of certain types of cancers, including colon cancer, bladder cancer, and breast cancer.
  9. For a majority of sufferers, drinking water can significantly reduce joint and/or back pain.
  10. Water can prevent and alleviate headaches.
  11. Water naturally moisturizes skin and ensures proper cellular formation underneath layers of skin to give it a healthy, glowing appearance.
  12. Water aids in the digestion process and prevents constipation.
  13. Water is the primary mode of transportation for all nutrients in the body and is essential for proper circulation.

(from: AllAboutWater.org)

Of course, I know all this and have known it since health class in Primary School. But I am always forgetting.

I am vigilant about Zuzu’s water consumption and she has been well-trained to go to the spigot before the fridge, if she’s thirsty. I am fiercely determined to keep myself as healthily hydrated. I have posted little ‘Dear Dandylion, go and have a quick swig of H2O’ notes around the house and I have a 10 L water container on my kitchen counter to remind me of my intentions (to be clear, I was a regular water drinker for most of my life – I fell off the water wagon about 10 years back).

After a day of mindful water consumption – and between homework, swimming lessons and Sea Scouts – Zuzu and I made a delicious vegetable stew.

I sautéed onions and garlic in some chili oil. Zuzu peeled and diced a few potatoes and kumara and carrots and tossed them in when the onion was soft. I added a sliced zucchini and some s & p, coriander and sweet basil. We let it cook to soften the root veggies and Zuzu added a little over a cup of water to cover the vegetables. We let them simmer until soft and added a can of diced tomatoes, a can of chickpeas, some cauliflower florets and a top up of herbs and spices (to taste). It simmered away for 20 minutes or so, until the chickpeas were tomato flavoured. It was a simple, tasty and filling dinner to cap a busy day,  served with a healthy and refreshing glass of… 🙂

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

