time flies? you can’t they go too fast…

12 02 2010

Yes, I thought I’d start with the fly joke… an old, wrinkly and disheveled word play. I remember being 7 years old and my mumma trying to explain why it was funny. Time flies? You know – with a stop watch? It took me a long time and then, when I finally understood it, I had to find it hilarious or surely her feelings would be hurt.

Yesterday was one of those busy days that zooms by and you really can’t remember much about it. I spent the day in the city with a list of errands and shopping to do.

Thursday is trash day for our part of the island and I was out of  ‘red bags’.  So, after dropping Zuzu at school, I dashed around trying to find the approved bag (almost everyone was out) and had just enough time to stop at home, dump the trash in the bag, toss it on the curb with the recyclables and make the 9am ferry.

I raced madly around the city, sweaty and red-faced, between appointments and stores and managed to get everything done including a delicious lunch with M at Thai Chili. I chose the vegetarian express lunch, thinking M would need to hurry to catch a cab to the airport- he ordered a big fancy lunch so I needn’t have worried. My #3 was perfect. Vegetarian spring rolls, so wonderfully crispy on the outside and soft in the middle; a delicately flavoured red curry with puffed tofu, slivers of carrot and beans and thinly sliced water chestnuts; a fresh, very finely diced fruit salad to finish, with green apple, pineapple, tiny grapes, orange segments and sprigs of mint. So refreshing.  I have decided that Zuzu and I will create our version of the meal this weekend. I know nothing about Thai cooking. I have used Thai spices but have never attempted a traditional recipe. I thought I would read a little about the techniques and flavours and then create a version of my own.

I finished my city errands just in time to catch the 2pm ferry back to the island and pick Zuzu up, as she dawdled home from school.   We were both a little sticky and tired from our day’s activities and as we headed to the market she suggested a quick and easy dinner – although she assures me she’s keen to experiment with Thai flavours this weekend. We headed in different directions inside the store, and met at the trolley with our respective items.

Zuzu: popcorn, freshly squeezed lemonade, chickpeas, tomatoes and a granola bar for school the next day.

Me: crispy taco shells, refried beans, lettuce, cheese and sour cream.

At home, I sautéed some onion and garlic in garlic rice bran oil and added a little medley of Moroccan-like spices: ginger, black pepper, turmeric, salt, paprika, cumin, cinnamon and nutmeg. Once those flavours had settled, I added a drained can of chickpeas and stirred them into the spices for about 5 minutes. Next, a can of diced tomatoes, a small can of tomato paste, a teaspoon of sugar to complement the tomato, some thin slices of carrot (inspired by the Thai lunch), thinly sliced spinach (mine was frozen and thawed in the microwave) and topped with some fresh coriander. I served it in a bowl, as a soup (although it was thick enough to be presented on top of rice as a sauce).

I decided to share Zuzu’s soup – it was a much healthier choice –  but I garnished mine with a small blob of sour cream… and a glass of water 🙂

Actions

Information

One response

14 02 2010
M

I think it’s worth mentioning that the “big fancy” dish was “Pad See You” (don’t know how to really spell it); Thai Chilli’s version is probably the best in town – having tried the dish wherever I found it on the menu. You might consider trying to make your own vegetarian version; I’ll test, of course.

Leave a Reply

