the bright side

14 02 2011

Luckily for me, I love mashed potatoes. However, after too many days of a  ‘low residue diet’, in preparation for an endoscopic procedure,  I was afraid that I would forever lose the taste for my ultimate comfort food.

I’m going to need a lengthy break from yogurt, eggs, broth and white rice but potato mash still fills me with delight.

 

Step 1: Cook 1 1/2 pounds of mashing potatoes with 1/2 teaspoon salt – so a fork easily passes through them.

Step 2: Warm 4 tbsp of heavy cream and 2 tbsp melted butter together in the microwave or a pot.

Step 3: Drain water from potatoes and put hot potatoes into a bowl.

Step 4: Add cream and melted butter mixture and mash the potatoes until perfectly smooshed.

Step 5: Use a strong spoon to beat further, adding milk to achieve the consistency you prefer – Don’t over-beat or your potatoes will get gluey.

Step 6: Salt and lots of pepper to taste.

 

Once off the diet, I have to admit I was craving something crunchy and woo hoo spicy. In fact, on the ferry coming home after the procedure, I felt manic and we desperately tried to find a number for the new Thai restaurant on the island. Thwarted, I settled for a mouth-watering Indian Palak Paneer and  indulged in Pad Thai Jay for dinner the following night.

This morning, however, as I was wandering through the usual dinner prep, in my head – I was caught up in a fancy for mashed potatoes. That’s true love for you.

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

